Principal Committees

The Health Chief Executives Forum, formerly the Australian Health Ministers’ Advisory Council (AHMAC) had four principal committees.

Only the Australian Health Protection Principal Committee (AHPPC) is still active. For information about the past work of the Health Services Principal Committee, the Clinical Principal Committee or the Mental Health Principal Committee please contact the Health Council Secretariat.


Australian Health Protection Principal Committee (AHPPC)

Comprises of Chief Health Officers from each of the jurisdictions.

Ongoing Role
The AHPPC has an ongoing role to advise AHMAC on health protection matters and national priorities. AHPPC is also tasked with the role of mitigating emerging health threats related to infectious diseases, the environment as well as natural and human made disasters. The Committee also works with states and territories to develop and adopt national health protection policies, guidelines, standards and alignment of plans.

AHPPC oversees five standing committees: 

  • Blood Borne Viruses & Sexually Transmitted Infections Standing Committee
  • Communicable Diseases Network Australia
  • Environmental Health Standing Committee
  • National Health Emergency Standing Committee
  • Public Health Laboratory Network of Australia

Secretariat contact    |    02 6289 2634    |    GPO Box 9848, Canberra ACT 2601